Media Contact

Ashley Lindstrom
Communications Coordinator

Department of Mechanical Engineering faculty members Dr. Michael Haberman and Dr. Carolyn Seepersad, along with their students Conner Sharpe, Clinton Morris and Benjamin Goldsberry, recently received the award for Best Paper at the Design Automation Conference (DAC) which is hosted by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Design Engineering Division.

The DAC, one of several technical conferences highlighting the different facets of design engineering, is held under ASME’s annual International Design Engineering Technical Conferences & Computers and Information in Engineering Conference (IDETC/CIE). This year’s convention highlighted “emergent technologies that impact the critical engineering issues of product design and development, manufacturing, and the management and integration of information systems throughout the product life-cycle.”

The paper, selected from among 175 submissions, was a product of more than six months of focused research, in addition to several years that the graduate students dedicated to working on the general topic. The submission, titled “Bayesian Network Structure Optimization for Improved Design Space Mapping for Design Exploration with Materials Design Applications” delineates the team’s overall goal to “establish engineering design exploration techniques that allow engineers to explore complex design spaces efficiently and quickly identify promising designs.”

The inspiration for this paper stems from their work on a DARPA-sponsored project that has challenged them to apply their techniques to higher dimensional and more complex structural and materials design problems. Under the DARPA program called TRADES (Transformational Design), the team plans to continue their work on this topic and build upon the success that they have had thus far.

Joomla SEF URLs by Artio