Media Contact

Ashley Lindstrom
Communications Coordinator

Dr. Michael Webber, an associate professor who joined the Department of Mechanical Engineering in 2007, was recently invited to join the University of Texas System Academy of Distinguished Teachers and elected a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) .

Researchers at The University of Texas at Austin in the Mechanical Engineering's Nuclear and Radiation Program were recently published in the journal Nature for their work developing a method to detect small amounts of radioactive materials in layered objects, such as airport luggage.

The team had a paper published in the journal Nature in April 2014, showing impressive advances in the construction of nano motors.

Assistant Professor Ashish Deshpande, a robotics professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, reports that his graduate student Youngmok Yun won the UT Graduate School Named Continuing Fellowship.

Dr. Don Berry, an adjunct Lecturer in the department, has recently been elected a Fellow of the Aeroballistic Range Association.

The Nuclear Engineering Teaching Lab (NETL), in the Mechanical Engineering Department at The University of Texas (UT), has received a three-year $1.2 million grant to lead a four university consortium entitled Unified Approach to Increase STEM Undergraduate Students Employment in the Department of the Navy.

The 2014 World Automation Congress recognized Cockrell School of Engineering professor Del Tesar with the Lifetime Achievement Award for his work on robotics and intelligent automation.

Assistant Professor Yaguo Wang, who joined Mechanical Engineering Department in Jan. 2013, has recently been selected by the National Science Foundation for an Early CAREER Award, which carries with it $400,000 in start-up research funding for five years.

Joomla SEF URLs by Artio