Media Contact

Ashley Lindstrom
Communications Coordinator

Hosted by the Department of Mechanical Engineering, this exciting event is open to ALL undergraduate Texas Engineering students.

The Health Product Innovation team at Dell Medical School is building a pipeline of support for products — medical devices, software, diagnostic methods and more — that can transform health and health care while keeping costs low. Through Texas Health Catalyst, a program that vets, shapes and supports promising solutions to real health problems, and related programs and workshops, the team empowers innovators across the university and throughout Austin to collaborate to solve community problems.

Sean Riley had an unusual problem. Riley, a violinist, had fallen in love with a piece of music he could not play. His struggle had nothing to do with his talent. The problem was that his prized 240-year-old violin has four strings like most violins, but this piece of music was written for six strings.

Dr. Adela Ben-Yakar, a professor in the Cockrell School’s Department of Mechanical Engineering, has been elected to the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) College of Fellows, which represents the most accomplished in the top 2% of medical and biological engineers.

Mitchell Johnson, a mechanical engineering senior, researched the properties of an additive used in drilling mud to develop technology to better measure the behavior of different mud compositions.

On Saturday, November 11, roughly 200 outstanding mechanical engineering alumni and friends converged on the Engineering Teaching Center’s T-Room to celebrate the unveiling of the Department of Mechanical Engineering Academy of Distinguished Alumni Recognition Wall.

Renowned Cockrell School of Engineering professor John B. Goodenough has been honored with The Franklin Institute’s 2018 Benjamin Franklin Medal in Chemistry. The award, given out once a year, recognizes individuals who have made pivotal achievements in science, technology and industry.

Researchers in the Cockrell School of Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin have discovered a family of anode materials that can double the charge capacity of lithium-ion battery anodes — a breakthrough that opens the door to cheaper, smaller and lighter batteries in the future.

Department of Mechanical Engineering faculty members Dr. Michael Haberman and Dr. Carolyn Seepersad, along with their students Conner Sharpe, Clinton Morris and Benjamin Goldsberry, recently received the award for Best Paper at the Design Automation Conference (DAC) which is hosted by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Design Engineering Division.

The National Institutes of Health (NIH) today awarded two highly competitive research grants of $2.3 million each in total costs to engineering and science faculty members at The University of Texas at Austin for innovative approaches to addressing challenges in biomedical research. Yuebing Zheng, an assistant professor of mechanical engineering in the Cockrell School of Engineering, and Xiaolu “Lulu” Cambronne, assistant professor of molecular biosciences in the College of Natural Sciences, will receive the grants over five years. They are part of the NIH Director’s New Innovator Awards, established in 2007 to support early-career investigators conducting high-risk, high-impact research. Zheng and Cambronne were two of 55 New Innovators awarded in 2017.

Joomla SEF URLs by Artio