Media Contact

Ashley Lindstrom
Communications Coordinator

Every year, the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), grants more than 75 awards that recognize achievement, service and literature in the realm of mechanical engineering. The winners of these awards consist of some of the most innovative and dedicated individuals in the field. S.V. Sreenivasan, a professor in the Cockrell School’s Department of Mechanical Engineering, has received this year’s Machine Design Award.

This award, dating back to 1959, recognizes outstanding achievement or service in the application, research, development or teaching of machine design. This is the third ASME award that S.V. has been granted. He received the Leonardo da Vinci Award in 2009 and the William T. Ennor Manufacturing Technology Award in 2011. For this year's honor, S.V. will be awarded $1,000 toward his ongoing research, which focuses on increasing process productivity in a nanomanufacturing setting. S.V. has published more than 100 technical papers and holds over 100 U.S. patents. He also co-founded the semiconductor business Molecular Imprints Inc., which was acquired by Canon Corporation.

Joomla SEF URLs by Artio