February: Dr. Carolyn Conner Seepersad earns the UT Women in Engineering Program's Advocate Award  for helping advance women in the field of engineering

January: Julia O'Rourke selected to attend the YESS Energy Symposium: Alternative Energies (College Station, TX) and the NSF CMMI Grantees' Conference (travel grant)


September: Dr. Carolyn Conner Seepersad invited to participate in the National Academy of Engineering's 2010 Frontiers of Engineering Symposium [News Item]

August: Dr. Carolyn Conner Seepersad earns the 2010 ASME Design Automation Young Investigator Award for her contributions to design automation research.

August: Dr. Carolyn Conner Seepersad earns the University of Texas Regents' Award for Outstanding Teaching [News Item][News Item]

July: Cassandra Telenko invited to attend the week long UCSD Green Technology Entrepreneurship Academy

July: Julia O'Rourke selected to attend the 9th International Summer School on Biocomplexity from Gene to System (Istanbul, Turkey) and the Young Leaders Dialogue with America (Prague, Czech Republic)

June: Dr. Carolyn Conner Seepersad and coauthors earn two Best Paper Awards at the 2010 ASEE Annual Conference and Exposition.  Best Paper in the Mechanical Design Division for "Extreme Experience Interviews for Innovative Designs: Classroom Assessment of a New Needs Gathering Method" by M. Green, C.C. Seepersad and K. Holtta-Otto.  And Best Paper in the Design in Engineering Education Division and PIC II for "An Experimental Investigation of the Innovation Capabilities of Engineering Students" by N. Genco, K. Holtta-Otto, and C.C. Seepersad.

June: Pete Backlund selected to attend the PASI on Dynamics and Control of Manned and Unmanned Marine Vehicles in Colombia

May: Dr. Carolyn Conner Seepersad earns the Dean's Award for Outstanding Teaching by an Assistant Professor [News Item] 

April: Julia O'Rourke awarded an NSF Graduate Research Fellowship [News Item]

April: Cassandra Telenko awarded one of two Cockrell School of Engineering Graduate Student Leadership Awards [News Item]

March: Lia Kashdan awarded best research poster at the UT Austin Graduate And Industry Networking (GAIN) Conference


Pete Backlund and Ray Ely placed as Finalists in the Student Manufacturing Design Competition at the 2009 International Manufacturing Science & Engineering Conference for their entry "Design and Construction of an Automated Gas Metal Arc Welding Test Station"

Julia O'Rourke recognized as an example of achievement [News Item]

Julia O'Rourke awarded a William C. Powers Fellowship from the University of Texas at Austin [News Item]

Dr. Carolyn C. Seepersad named the International Outstanding Young Researcher in Freeform and Additive Manufacturing Award by the Solid Freeform Fabrication Symposium [News Item]

Matt Saunders, Dr. Carolyn C. Seepersad, and UMass-Dartmouth's Dr. Katja Holtta-Otto received the Best Paper Award from ASME's Design Theory and Methodology Conference for their paper "The Characteristics of Innovative, Mechanical Products" [News Item]

Nathan Putnam, Cassandra Telenko, and James Durand (team Cool as Ice)  won the Design Portion of the Student Engineering Council's Alternative Energy Competition [News Item]

Uma Maheshwaraa, Dr. Carolyn C. Seepersad, and Dr. David Bourell's paper, "Design and Freeform Fabrication of Deployable Structures with Lattice Skins," is one of the 5 most frequently downloaded papers for the Rapid Prototyping Journal.


Nathan Putnam awarded a Department of Defense Science, Mathematics And Research for Transformation (SMART) Scholarship

Cassandra Telenko awarded a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship [News Item]