With a reputation for excellence in energy engineering, a close proximity to Latin America and a community of world-renowned faculty leaders and innovators, the Walker Department of Mechanical Engineering in the Cockrell School of Engineering is positioned like no other department in the country. Our faculty members are NAE members, Nobel Prize winners, inventors of life- changing technologies and successful entrepreneurs dedicated not only to the next great research breakthrough, but to teaching the next generation of engineering leaders.

We value collaboration, multidisciplinary research, project-based learning and student diversity. The investments we’ve made and successful initiatives we’ve implemented prove our commitment to becoming one of the best mechanical engineering departments in the world.

At the Cockrell School of Engineering and The University of Texas at Austin, we are in the midst of extraordinary transformation and opportunity. The new UT Austin Dell Medical School offers opportunities for strategic research collaboration at the intersection of engineering and health care. And the Cockrell School’s new Engineering Education and Research Center—a 430,000 square-foot facility— provides all engineering students and faculty with state-of-the-art labs and collaborative project spaces.

Learn more about our tradition of excellence for over 100 years in A Centennial History of Mechanical Engineering Education at The University of Texas at Austin: Endless Possibilities, Unlimited Applications

Facts & Figures

Program Rankings

#10 Undergraduate Mechanical Engineering (2020 U.S. News & World Report)
#12 Graduate Mechanical Engineering (2019 U.S. News & World Report)

Undergraduate Students

1,213 Enrolled
18% Underrepresented Minorities
24% Women
$1.1M Awarded in scholarships

Graduate Students

432 Enrolled
19% Women
$1.8M Awarded in fellowships


35 Professors
20 Associated Professors
12 Assistant Professors
12 ASME Fellows

Research Expenditures

$24.3 Million 2016-17 fiscal year


18 NSF CAREER Award Winners

Affiliated Research Centers & State-of-the-art Facilities

Center for Nano- and Molecular Science (CNM)

CNM focuses on hands-on instruction and opportunities to foster critical research and development in nanoscience and nanotechnology.

Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences (ICES)

Comprised of 10 centers and six research groups, ICES supports diverse research concentrations, from electromagnetics and acoustics to subsurface modeling.

Microelectronics Research Center (MRC)

MRC is a multidisciplinary, NSF-funded center that develops new device and integrated circuit structures, compound semiconductor material optics and photonics.

Nanomanufacturing Systems for Mobile Computing and Mobile Energy Technologies (NASCENT)

A nationally renowned center with multiple partner universities, NASCENT creates versatile, reliable nanomanufacturing systems through research, education and industrial partnerships.

Texas Advanced Computing Center (TACC)

TACC enables researcher analysis and discovery by designing and building powerful advanced computing technologies, facilitating more than 3,000 projects annually.

Texas Materials Institute (TMI)

TMI operates the Materials Science and Engineering graduate program, and promotes multidisciplinary research in materials science and engineering.

Mentoring & Teaching

The Elevate ME initiative aims to increase the number of women in our department, supported by scholarship opportunities, career mentorship, and more.

The Freshman Research Program gives undergraduate students early exposure to hands-on research, helping to inform their choice of specializations.

Inside the new Longhorn Maker Studio, students use the latest equipment, including 3-D printers and scanners, laser and plasma cutters and hand tools, to build prototypes for classes and student organizations.

Transformative Research

The selective laser sintering 3-D printing technique was invented and developed at UT Austin by mechanical engineering professor Joseph Beaman and Carl Deckard. Their company, DTM, was acquired by 3D systems in 2001.

Professor John Goodenough developed the lithium-ion rechargeable battery. For this technology and his other pioneering energy contributions to the field, he received both the Japan Prize and the Draper Prize.

Step and flash imprint lithography — which makes the world’s smallest, fastest, cheapest computer chips — was co-developed by professor S.V. Sreenivasan at UT Austin. His company, Molecular Imprints, was recently purchased by Canon.

HARMONY, an innovative new full upper-body rehabilitation robot developed by assistant professor Ashish Deshpande, provides data-driven therapy to patients with spinal and neurological injuries.

Joomla SEF URLs by Artio