Welcome to
the Walker Department
of Mechanical Engineering

RT @CockrellSchool: Woodrow W. Winchester, III, an expert in engineering professional development and continuing education, has been named…
RT @CockrellSchool: 1⃣ PAPER ALERT: Robots are becoming a bigger part of our society, from to day-to-day applications like working alongsid…
Congrats to ME faculty member Mitch Pryor, winner of the 2022 Fulbright Scholar Award! @FulbrightPrgrmhttps://t.co/G7brhJx8fU


researcher and patient collaborate to use rehabilitory robot


Research Expenditures

The Walker Department of Mechanical Engineering at UT Austin is committed to the pursuit of transformative, multidisciplinary research. Our renowned and dedicated faculty members are the inventors of life-changing technologies — from the lithium-ion rechargeable battery to the selective-laser sintering 3-D printing technique — and we continue to develop and build exciting new innovations to advance the world every day.

Our plentiful state-of-the-art facilities, research centers and industry partnerships support vast, diverse research areas and hands-on learning for the next generation of engineering leaders.

The department’s strategic research collaborations at the intersection of engineering and health care expanded with the 2016 opening of the UT Austin Dell Medical School. In 2017, the Cockrell School’s new Engineering Education and Research Center — a 430,000 square-foot facility — began providing all engineering students and faculty with even more cutting-edge labs and collaborative project spaces.

Learn more about our research areas


Mechanical Engineering Graduate Program Ranked #10 in the Nation for 2023

The mechanical engineering graduate program in the Walker Department of Mechanical Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin has been ranked No. 10 according to U.S. News & World Report’s 2023 graduate school rankings.

Keep reading

Mitch Pryor Among Three UT Austin Faculty Members to Win Fulbright Scholar Awards

Three faculty members of The University of Texas at Austin, including Mitchell Pryor from the Cockrell School of Engineering, have received 2022-2023 Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program awards from the U.S. Department of State and the Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.

Keep reading

Guihua Yu Named Finalist in 2022 Blavatnik National Awards for Young Scientists

A pair of professors from The University of Texas at Austin were selected as finalists for the 2022 Blavatnik National Awards for Young Scientists.  

Keep reading

UT Austin Selected for EcoCAR EV Challenge to Make Next-Gen Vehicle

The University of Texas at Austin is one of 13 university teams in North America set to participate in the EcoCAR EV Challenge, a prestigious collegiate competition to re-engineer state-of-the-art vehicles and prepare students for the future.

Keep reading

Our Nobel Laureate

On December 10, 2019, John B. Goodenough received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his contributions to the development of the lithium-ion battery.

Experience His Nobel Journey In Photos
John Goodenough Nobel prize

Research Areas


Graduate Mechanical Engineering Program


Undergraduate Mechanical Engineering Program


Nobel Prize Recipient


Explore more at the Walker Department of Mechanical Engineering