Dr. Joesph Beaman, Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering has been honored with the General Pierre Nicolau Award from the International Academy of Production Engineering (CIRP)

Beaman is recognized for this award as one of the inventors of 3D printing technology and an expert in additive manufacturing. He was one of the founders of DTM Corporation (now merged with 3D Systems), which markets Selective Laser Sintering, an additive manufacturing technique that is now used worldwide. Beaman joined The University of Texas at Austin faculty in 1979 after receiving his Sc.D. from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, in the area of nonlinear control in the Walker Department of Mechanical Engineering. He currently holds the Earnest F. Gloyna Regents Chair in Engineering. 

Beaman will be honored at a virtual ceremony in August 2021 at the CIRP General Assembly. CIRP is the world leading organization in production engineering research and is at the forefront of design, optimization, control and management of processes, machines and systems. This Award is conferred in recognition of significant and distinguished scientific and industrial contributions to a specific area within the field of production engineering encompassed by the interests of CIRP.