Tanya Hutter, Assistant Professor in the Walker Department of Mechanical Engineering, received a National Institutes of Health Exploratory/Developmental Research Grant Award (R21) from the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism.

Tanya Hutter

In collaboration with professor Rueben Gonzales in the College of Pharmacy at UT Austin, Hutter will be developing a novel optical probe capable of continuous real-time in vivo study of brain alcohol. Presently available technology does not allow continuous, real-time determination of tissue ethanol concentrations. This new technology will enable more rigorous interpretation of experiments designed to test hypotheses about mechanisms of the actions of ethanol.

The R21 award is a two-year grant that is intended to encourage exploratory/developmental research by providing support for the early and conceptual stages of project development.

In addition, graduate student, Tse-Ang Lee, who is working with Hutter on this project, was selected by the Waggoner Center for Alcohol and Addition Research (WCAAR) Executive Committee to receive a Fred Murphy Jones & Homer Lindsey Bruce Endowed Fellowship in Addiction Biology for the 2022-2023 academic year.

Hutter also runs the Hutter Research Group in the Walker Department of Mechanical Engineering.