Dr. Rodney Ruoff honored with Lee Hsun Award

February 22, 2009

Dr. Rodney Ruoff was recently honored by the Institute of Metal Research with the Lee Hsun Lecture Award.

Dr. Ruoff's citation for the award reads:

"In recognition of past accomplishments in the research field of materials science and technology."

He will give a lecture later this year or next in Shenyang, China, where the Institute is headquartered. The award will be formally presented at the lecture.

Professor Rodney Ruoff

Professor Rodney Ruoff

Lee Hsun Lecture Award

The award is presented to individuals who "made significant contributions to the materials science and engineering, and have a good personal reputation in some aspect of materials sciences and engineering." The award recipients are chosen by a committee consisting of chief professors at IMR. The award has been given since 2002, and has been awarded to researchers the world over for their contributions to materials research. Past awardees include Prof. Kotobu Nagai of the National Institute of Materials Research in Japan, Prof. Xinhe Bao of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, Prof. Hael Mughrabi of the Institut für Werkstoffwissenschaften at Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Prof. Subra Suresh of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and many other distinguished professors in the field of materials engineering.

The award is named for Professor Lee Hsun, who was the director of the IMR from 1951 until his death in 1983. Prof. Lee is best known for his discovery of hydrogen embrittlement, for which he received a Brunton medal in 1945.

Institute of Metal Research, Chinese Academy of Sciences

The Institute of Metal Research, an Institute within the Chinese Academy of Sciences, was founded in 1953 and has the goal to "excel in materials research, develop advanced materials technology and foster exceptional talents, serving the nation, society and mankind." IMR focuses on high performance metallic materials, inorganic non-metallic materials, and adanced composite materials. There are currently over 500 graduate students studying at IMR.

The Chinese Academy of Sciences was founded in 1949 out of the former Academia Sinica and the Peiping Academy of Sciences. Its goal is to promote China's high-tech industry, and foster technological advancement throughout the country. The CAS has about 80 institutes nationwide devoted to this goal. For more information, read the CAS's About page.

Back to previous page

Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict