Media Contact

Ashley Lindstrom
Communications Coordinator

Walker Department of Mechanical Engineering Associate Professor Emerita Harovel Wheat was named Engineer of the Year by the Texas Society of Professional Engineers (TSPE). TSPE is one of the largest state societies in the United States, dedicated to serving the interests of the individual engineer in Texas across all branches of engineering.

Yuebing Zheng, an assistant professor in the Walker Department of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin, was recently honored as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC). 

J. Mike Walker, the co-founder of Dril-Quip and namesake of the Cockrell School of Engineering’s J. Mike Walker Department of Mechanical Engineering, died on Dec. 27 at the age of 75, leaving a legacy of extraordinary generosity and support at The University of Texas at Austin.

Kayla Kelley and Ralph Wiser, undergraduate seniors in the Walker Department of Mechanical Engineering, have been chosen as the recipients of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission Undergraduate Scholarship. Each student will receive a $10,000 award directed toward their fall and spring semester tuition and fees. 

“Mike Walker has made an extraordinary investment in the future of engineering, not only for The University of Texas, but for our state and our nation,” said Gregory L. Fenves, president of UT Austin. “Our students and faculty will benefit tremendously. And, because of Mike’s generosity, our mechanical engineering department will continue to expand its reputation as one of the best in the country.”

Junmin Wang, Professor in the Walker Department of Mechanical Engineering, has been selected by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) as a co-recipient of the 2018 IEEE Andrew P. Sage Best Transactions Paper Award in the IEEE Transactions of the Systems, Man and Cybernetics Society (SMCS).

Vaibhav Bahadur (VB), Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering at UT Austin published research concerning biomass gasification-based atmospheric water harvesting in India in Energy, an international, multi-disciplinary journal in energy engineering and research.

The Walker Department of Mechanical Engineering hosted its annual Mechanical Engineering Academy of Distinguished Alumni (MEADA) Award Ceremony on September 14, 2018. This event honors nominated alumni in four different categories: Outstanding Young Mechanical Engineer, Distinguished Mechanical Engineer, Mechanical Engineering Hall of Fame, and Honorary Mechanical Engineer. This year, the department honored 12 new members at the San Jacinto Hall at UT Austin.

In a rare occurrence and an extraordinary act of philanthropy, The University of Texas at Austin and Texas A&M University each received $20 million gifts from J. Mike Walker to support their Departments of Mechanical Engineering.

This year’s incoming faculty members exhibit a wide range of engineering expertise and bring research interests that range from nuclear and computational engineering to extreme environments and environmental fluid mechanics. Learn more about our newest Texas Engineers.

Joomla SEF URLs by Artio