Media Contact

Ashley Lindstrom
Communications Coordinator

Dr. Carl Deckard, alumnus of the Walker Department of Mechanical Engineering and co-inventor of the revolutionary additive manufacturing process called Selective Laser Sintering (SLS), died on December 23, 2019, at the age of 58.

Mechanical Engineering Associate Professor Guihua Yu has recently been announced as the winner of the 7th Polymer International – IUPAC award for Creativity in Applied Polymer Science. This award celebrates the outstanding contributions Yu has made to polymer nanoscience and engineering. He has achieved extraordinary research accomplishments and shown remarkable creativity and scientific scholarship in several areas of materials science.

When Desiderio Kovar joined UT’s faculty in 1997, there was a crisis in the teaching of mechanical engineering no one could quite put their finger on. Students, by every quantitative measure, such as SAT scores, were brighter than ever, yet they were struggling with concepts in a way students never had before. Veteran professors suddenly found it much harder to get through to students.  

Not everything is bigger in Texas — some things are really, really small. A group of mechanical engineers at The University of Texas at Austin may have found a new material for manufacturing even smaller computer chips that could replace silicon and help overcome one of the biggest challenges facing the tech industry in decades: the inevitable end of Moore’s Law.

Thanks to an extraordinary commitment from alumnus and former EOG Resources Inc. President Gary L. Thomas, the Cockrell School of Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin is officially naming its newest building the Gary L. Thomas Energy Engineering Building. Through his investment, Thomas hopes to ensure UT’s position among the nation’s top energy universities while helping to provide a multidisciplinary engineering education for students.

From developing bio-inspired membranes for more effective wastewater treatment to creating electromagnetic-based solutions for medical technologies, the Cockrell School’s new faculty members span a wide range of engineering expertise. Learn more about how our newest Texas Engineers are pushing technological boundaries and changing the world.

The Walker Department of Mechanical Engineering hosted its annual Mechanical Engineering Academy of Distinguished Alumni Award Ceremony on September 13, 2019. This event honors nominated alumni in four different categories: Outstanding Young Mechanical Engineer, Distinguished Mechanical Engineer, Mechanical Engineering Hall of Fame, and Honorary Mechanical Engineer. This year, the department honored 12 new members at the Etter-Harbin Alumni Center’s Connally Ballroom at UT Austin.

Clean water. Having it can make a difference between surviving or not. What if this vital resource could be pulled out of thin air? A breakthrough by mechanical engineers at The University of Texas at Austin does just that.

The Co-op Research Excellence Awards recognize the outstanding efforts of our faculty and research staff by presenting three annual awards: the Career Award, the Best Paper Award, and the Creative Research Award. These awards have become one of the most prominent symbols of peer recognition at The University of Texas at Austin, not only for career-long accomplishments and scientific research output but also for creative research and artistic endeavors. 

Joomla SEF URLs by Artio