Media Contact

Ashley Lindstrom
Communications Coordinator

Dr. Adela Ben-Yakar, a professor in the Cockrell School’s Department of Mechanical Engineering, has been elected to the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) College of Fellows, which represents the most accomplished in the top 2% of medical and biological engineers.

Mitchell Johnson, a mechanical engineering senior, researched the properties of an additive used in drilling mud to develop technology to better measure the behavior of different mud compositions.

On Saturday, November 11, roughly 200 outstanding mechanical engineering alumni and friends converged on the Engineering Teaching Center’s T-Room to celebrate the unveiling of the Department of Mechanical Engineering Academy of Distinguished Alumni Recognition Wall.

Renowned Cockrell School of Engineering professor John B. Goodenough has been honored with The Franklin Institute’s 2018 Benjamin Franklin Medal in Chemistry. The award, given out once a year, recognizes individuals who have made pivotal achievements in science, technology and industry.

Researchers in the Cockrell School of Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin have discovered a family of anode materials that can double the charge capacity of lithium-ion battery anodes — a breakthrough that opens the door to cheaper, smaller and lighter batteries in the future.

Department of Mechanical Engineering faculty members Dr. Michael Haberman and Dr. Carolyn Seepersad, along with their students Conner Sharpe, Clinton Morris and Benjamin Goldsberry, recently received the award for Best Paper at the Design Automation Conference (DAC) which is hosted by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Design Engineering Division.

The National Institutes of Health (NIH) today awarded two highly competitive research grants of $2.3 million each in total costs to engineering and science faculty members at The University of Texas at Austin for innovative approaches to addressing challenges in biomedical research. Yuebing Zheng, an assistant professor of mechanical engineering in the Cockrell School of Engineering, and Xiaolu “Lulu” Cambronne, assistant professor of molecular biosciences in the College of Natural Sciences, will receive the grants over five years. They are part of the NIH Director’s New Innovator Awards, established in 2007 to support early-career investigators conducting high-risk, high-impact research. Zheng and Cambronne were two of 55 New Innovators awarded in 2017.

More than a decade in the making, the highly anticipated, 430,000-square-foot Engineering Education and Research Center (EERC) has officially opened at The University of Texas at Austin.

By experimentally verifying the existence of Willis coupling, Mechanical Engineering Assistant Professor Michael Haberman and his team have laid a foundation for new research that makes use of its unique material response. The findings lend themselves to a wide range of applications in acoustical engineering ranging from sound diffusers in architectural acoustics to biomedical imaging using ultrasonic waves.

The Welch Foundation announced mechanical engineering professor Dr. John B. Goodenough as the 2017 recipient of the Robert A. Welch Award in Chemistry. Goodenough first received wide acclaim for his research following the invention of the lithium-ion battery in 1980, leading the way for the extraordinary growth in portable electronic devices that continues today. More than 30 years later, Goodenough continues to contribute groundbreaking research.

Joomla SEF URLs by Artio