Welcome to
the Walker Department
of Mechanical Engineering

📣Calling all Austin area UT ME alumni! 📣 We're hosting an alumni happy hour on Feb. 2nd at 5:30pm at the UT Club o… https://t.co/p6oyxFjqaG
RT @BDLeibowicz: I'm pleased to share this pair of new papers in Sustainable and Resilient Infrastructure that I wrote with my former @ut_o…
RT @CockrellSchool: In a new paper published in the Int'l Journal of Hydrogen Energy researchers studied wind farms to enhance profitabilit…


Donald Siegel

Department Chair

A former professor at the University of Michigan and an internationally recognized computational materials scientist, Donald Siegel assumed the role of chair of the Walker Department of Mechanical Engineering in September 2021.


Terrie Chandler


This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Associate Chairs

Desi Kovar

Associate Department Chair

Raul Longoria

Associate Chair for Undergraduate Education

Wei Li

Associate Chair for Graduate Education

Yaguo Wang

Associate Chair for D.E.I.

Area Coordinators

Mark Hamilton

Dynamic Systems and Controls

Chi Chang

Manufacturing and Design

Guihua Yu

Materials Science and Engineering

Sheldon Landsberger

Nuclear Engineering

Eric Bickel

Operations Research and Industrial Engineering

Adela Ben-Yakar

Thermal Fluid Sciences


Mechanical Engineering Undergraduate Program Ranked No. 10 in U.S.

The Walker Department of Mechanical Engineering's undergraduate program has once again been named one of the nation’s top mechanical engineering programs in the country. In the latest U.S. News & World Report undergraduate rankings, our undergraduate program ranked No. 10.

Keep reading

ME Graduate Student Wins Big at the Texas Venture Labs Investment Competition

Iman Salafian, 2nd year Ph.D. candidate in the Walker Department of Mechanical Engineering, won two awards in the recent Texas Venture Labs Investment Competition. 

Keep reading

Mark Hamilton Receives the Gold Medal Award from the Acoustical Society of America

Mark Hamilton, professor in the Walker Department of Mechanical Engineering, has been selected to receive the Gold Medal Award by the Acoustical Society of America

Keep reading

Researchers Aim to Shed Light on Cellular Bonding, Including COVID Cells

The way cells interact with each other is among the most fundamental aspects of understanding the body and developing effective treatments for diseases. However, the tools for observing how cells behave in various circumstances remain flawed, despite intense focus from researchers around the globe.

Keep reading

Centenarian of Energy Innovation

Happy 100th Birthday to John B. Goodenough, professor and Nobel Laureate. On July 22nd, a group of students, colleagues, and friends gathered at UT Austin to celebrate his life and world-changing work.

Watch the Symposium
John Goodenough Nobel prize

Research Areas


Graduate Mechanical Engineering Program


Undergraduate Mechanical Engineering Program


Nobel Prize Recipient


Explore more at the Walker Department of Mechanical Engineering